Skip to content

RSL 1984

June 7, 2009

The Newsboys, a band from Australia, put out a CD in May that has stayed in my CD player since the day it came out.  The title song, “In the Hands of God” is the reason I bought the CD but over the past few weeks most of the songs on the CD have been played repeatedly.  The song that is currently getting the most playing time is “RSL 1984”.   Like most songs, the music is what first gets my attention then I’m drawn to the lyrics. Listen to the song and read the lyrics. It is a beautiful story of redemption.  I love the keyboard on the 2nd to the last chorus. It is simply “heavenly”!

RSL 1984 – by The Newsboys

Some kissed the girls, I kissed the floor

The Bover boys with their boots shiny red

Three dollar champagne stirring my head

We rolled out the barrels, boys

We sang with a single voice

Chrous

Let all tears turn to gold

And all the hell I’ve raised

Lord, let it fade away

As Your glories unfold

Give me a part to play

Grant me another day

The surf and the sky and the Sunshine Coast of gold

Floating on a long board, life on hold

I never know the way, but you always take me there

And I need it now, like the Mooloolaba air

We’ll roll with the next wave, boys

We’ll sing out, we’ll make some noise

Chrous

Let all tears turn to gold

And all the hell I’ve raised

Lord, let it fade away

As Your glories unfold

Give me a part to play

Grant me another day

Red dust rises

Clouds your every thought

You don’t know you’re deceived until you’re not

Good dog, bad dog – they get to fightin’ in your head

The winner is the last one gettin’ fed

God is alive and my magic is no good

And He’s called me out on this walkabout

He leads me to water and traces each song line

And I know to know His ways are higher than mine

So roll out the road rig, boys

We’ll sing with a grateful voice

Chorus:

Let all tears turn to gold

And the hell that’s raised

Lord, let it fade away

As Your glories unfold

Give us a part to play

Grant us another day

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

