Skip to content

Never the Same ’09

June 22, 2009

This Friday my husband and I fly to Ft. Lauderdale to begin a two week adventure that will eventually take us and about 500 of our closest friends to Guatemala City.  Well, we aren’t close yet, but by the end of the trip we’ll be like family!  We are going on a mission trip with Big World Ventures and Susie Shellenberger of Susie Magazine.  I plan on blogging about each day’s events.  This is the sixth mission trip I have taken with this group. We are divided up into teams with about 35 teenagers and 5 adults.  Each day we either do work projects, street evangelism, minister to children in an orphanage, or provide food to the poor. When I get home after these trips I’m exhausted, but refreshed. Since I don’t get to teach school anymore, this give me a chance to be around teenagers.  The trip also gives me a chance to be on a two-week date with my husband.  I know, a date with 35 teenagers in tow!  To some, that doesn’t sound very inviting, but to me it is great fun!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. vicki egger permalink
    June 25, 2009 10:08 AM

    Hi Jennifer
    My son, Aaron Egger is on your team for the “Never the Same” mission trip. Actually so is my niece, Zoe Newcomb.
    I am so excited that you are going to be posting a blog.
    I will look forward to hearing about the daily activities. I was also surprised and blessed to see that your daughter is serving in Orlando. I am a Nazarene pastor’s kid! I will be praying for your team while in Guatemala.

  2. October 26, 2009 2:36 PM

    Hey! i just googled the guatemala 2010 trip and this came up, as i saw a link to my blog on here. this is pretty cool. thanks for sharing.

    • Jennifer permalink*
      October 26, 2009 2:47 PM

      Aubrey,
      Are you considering going on the Never the Same 2010 trip to Guatemala? I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

