Skip to content

Day 1 of Drama Practice

June 30, 2009

Today was saturated with drama practice.  The teams have two days to learn a 28 minute dramatic production.  They don’t have any lines to memorize but the choreography is very complex.  The kids have to listen to the music and narration to get their cues. It can be very confusing at first.  Our team was able to learn the entire drama by the end of 8 hours of training.  

Jonathan, Christina, and Heather during drama practice

Jonathan, Christina, and Heather during drama practice

Tomorrow they will go over it many times to polish their performance.  It is important to complete the polishing before tomorrow ends because after a day of travel (on Thursday),  we won’t have time to rehearse before we start going out to minister in Guatemala City. 

 

While the kids are practicing we (the leaders) sit and watch them and try to memorize their names.  We have 34 kids on our team and our goal is to memorize all of their names before the plane lifts off from Miami on Thursday.  I’m about half way there.  We have two girls named Hannah, two named Danni, two named Christie, one named Christina, one named Laura, and one named Lauren.  It can be confusing! 

I was able to borrow a van today so Susie Shellenberger (my college roommate), Kelly, a counselor from Focus on the Family, and I went to a mall looking for the perfect pair of walking sandals.  We found a store called “The Walking Company”.  They had a great selection of sandals.  

Susie, has been an editor of a Christian teen girls magazine for over 17 years.  She is actually starting her own magazine called, “Susie“.  

Susie and Megan

Susie and Megan

She is also a youth evangelist and has written over 40 books.  Needless to say, she is well known to a certain demographic. While we were trying on shoes, the saleswoman noticed Susie’s name tag and asked if she was “the Susie Shellenbeger”.  We had great fun interacting with Megan.  She told us that her cousin was going on the trip with us to Guatemala so Susie invited her to the FUAGNEM tonight.  Even a search for new shoes can be a “God moment”.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 5:52 AM

    It is so wonderful to hear the stories of what is happening! My girls are both on the trip — Joy is on your team and Hanna is on team 7. Thanks for giving your heart out to all the amazing teens you are working with!

  2. Jennifer permalink*
    July 1, 2009 12:56 PM

    Sue,
    Your girls are doing great. Hannah is in the same hotel room as my daughter so I get to see her everyday too. They both seem to be thriving. Thanks for trusting them with us. We’ll take good care of them.

  3. vicki egger permalink
    July 1, 2009 1:39 PM

    Thanks Jennifer for the updates!! We are checking your blog each day…and love the pictures! Tell Aaron HI from his family.

  4. Jennifer permalink*
    July 1, 2009 9:15 PM

    Vicki,
    Aaron told me that you all use to go to Portland First Church of the Nazarene. Mark Goodwin’s first pastorate was at my church in Bryan. His wife, Debbie, was my drama director in “Lost and Found”, a Nazarene college summer music/drama traveling group.

    Aaron is doing really well. He is our “prince”. He is very good! He has some acting skills! He’s also a great team member! Keep us in your prayers!

  5. July 2, 2009 7:22 PM

    Dear Jennifer,

    It was so awesome to meet you and Susie. You definitely encouraged me and made my day! It was a miracle you couldn’t find my store on Saturday; I would have been too busy then to enjoy meeting you. Also, Susie might not have been wearing her name tag!

    I’ll be praying as I follow the missions trip via your blog. I know my cousin Emily is going to have a blast as a mime. I’m looking forward to hearing from her how this experience impacts her.

    If you can, visit my dance blog, Megdance.blogspot.com. I hope my dancing encourages you as much as you encouraged me. It’s always a blessing to serve Christians in my store. I hope the Keen sandals serve you well.

    Blessings, Megan
    Megdance.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

