Skip to content

July 3rd, First Ministry Day

July 5, 2009

It is late on Friday night and I’m having trouble with the Internet.  I’m afraid if I don’t go ahead and type out my thoughts of the day I’ll forget them so I’m writing this on 7-3-2009, but will post it later. 

 

Savannah, Shannon, Ashley, and Melissa

Savannah, Shannon, Ashley, and Melissa

Today was our team’s first ministry day.  We went to a church about 45 minutes from where we are staying.  Our task was to paint several classrooms for the children.  We ended up painting six classrooms inside and out, and the outside of two restrooms.  Our kids did such a good job.  I never heard them complain about anything.  Instead, when they finished one task they would run up to me our my husband and say, “I’m finished, now what do you want me to do?”  I’m not exaggerating.  We had 34 teenagers today working hard all while laughing and smiling.  It was such a blessing to be in their presence.  I had so much fun today!

 

 

The necessities of life; water and an iPod!

The necessities of life; water and an iPod!

 Of course, they are still teenagers.  They brought their iPods and portable speakers and listened to music while they painted.  The music was worship music by some of their favorite Christian contemporary artists. I walked into one of the classrooms and the kids were all working hard while singing a Chris Tomlin worship song.  It was beautiful.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Christie, Zoe, Mary Lou, Shannon, Emily, and Rachel creating art!

Christie, Zoe, Mary Lou, Shannon, Emily, and Rachel creating art!

 

 

They also enjoyed painting a few other things besides the walls.  They have such an artistic flair when it comes to designing new fashions!  I even let them decorate the back of my shirt with painted hand-prints!

 

 

Emily and Mary Lou giving a "hand"

Emily and Mary Lou giving a "hand"

Speaking of hand-prints, the church wanted our team to add some hand-prints on the outside of the classrooms.  The kids loved doing this and it added a special touch for the children’s classrooms.

Tonight at FUAGNEM we had a great night of worship and singing.  Jaime Jamgochian is our worship leader this week.  She has been the worship leader for the past 3-4 mission trips.  She is a gifted worship leader.  She ushered us into the presence of the Lord tonight by some of the songs she has written.  One that touched us all was “For Him” from her “Above the Noise” CD  I was moved as I watched our kids (both girls and guys) worshiping their Heavenly Father.  They so freely showed their praise and adoration of Jesus. 

 Susie spoke tonight on how we can have a “Platinum Relationship with Jesus”.  It was a powerful message of total surrender to Christ.  She wanted us to reflect on the level of commitment we have made to Christ.  She urged us not to settle for a “Gold” level relationship…but to go “Platinum” with Jesus. She said that in order to do this we needed to do three things:

  1. Ask God to come into our lives…don’t just open the door to Jesus, ask Him to come over the threshold and reside in our lives.  She said we should let Him wow us with how He can work out the details of our lives when we totally rely on Him for the strength, power, creativity, wisdom, etc. to make the vision He has given us a reality.
  2. Sit at the feet of Jesus – we have to be close to Him if we are going to have a Platinum level relationship with Christ. This entails sacrifice and time.  We will sometimes have to slow down in order to connect with God on a personal level.
  3. Define yourself as a follower of Christ.  She mentioned that there are some people who are so gifted by what they do that they have defined their profession; Michael Jordan – basketball, Tiger Woods – golf, and Michael Jackson – pop music.  She challenged us to be the type of person that when someone mentioned our name, they would think “Jesus”. 

 The service tonight was a perfect ending to a great day! 

 Random Thoughts and Happenings:

 

Ashley, Mary Lou, Christie, Aaron, and Amy on Alcance TV

Ashley, Mary Lou, Christie, Aaron, and Amy on Alcance TV

The church we went to today has a Christian TV studio, Alcance TV.  They were in the process of trying to raise money to purchase new cameras and other equipment.  They interviewed most of our girls so we were on Guatemala TV!  How cool is that!

 

 I am REALLY missing Sonic!  We haven’t gotten a chance to go to a store to purchase Coca Cola Light (they don’t have Diet Coke).  I’m having caffeine withdrawals.  I have even been tempted to drink coffee just to get some caffeine!

 I’ve decided not to use my iPhone while I am in Guatemala because it is so expensive to call and access my email, etc. It has shown me how dependent I’ve become on the instant access to information. Countless times during the day I instinctively grabbed for my iPhone to check my Twitter, email or phone messages only to be reminded that it isn’t with me.  I am really roughing it!

All these kids have digital cameras!  It confirms what we know about the Net Generation; they want to create, contribute, and publish and it is fairly easy for them to do so.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2009 5:15 PM

    Thanks for sharing! I love hearing the stories of what is happening! I am in constant prayer for all of you!

    Sue (Joy’s Mom!)

  2. Suzi Blair permalink
    July 6, 2009 8:09 AM

    Good Morning, Dick, Jennifer and Team 6! We are so proud of all of you and your hard work. Ministry is a total blast … God gives us work for the purpose of accomplishment. Y’all must be going to bed incredibly exhausted, but with the greatest sense of success. Keep up the good work … we are praying against any kind of illness or injury and praying in favor of life-changing experiences and many salvations. I ran across a great verse for you “For you are a holy people to the Lord your God; the Lord your God has chosen you to be a people for Himself, a SPECIAL TREASURE above all the peoples on the face of the earth.” Deut. 7:6. Thanks for “Sharing the Treasure” with the folks back home. We appreciate ALL your labor. Love you guys. Mike and Suzi Blair (Heather’s parents!)

  3. July 6, 2009 1:39 PM

    It’s so neat to hear the heart of service from your kids! “What can I do to help?” What a beautiful thing to hear! I’ll continue praying for the kids, the ministry, the projects, and your internet withdrawal!

Leave a Reply

