Skip to content

Show Me Your Glory!

October 20, 2009

Sunrise

One of my favorite passages is found in Exodus 33:12-23.  After the golden calf incident (Exodus 32),  God was pretty fed up with the Sons of Israel.  Although He rescued them from slavery, provided for their every need, and promised them a land of their own, their response had been one of whining and complaining every step of the way. At this point God was ready to destroy all of them, and start over with Moses.  After Moses interceded on the people’s behalf, God relented but under the condition that He would no longer  travel with them.  Moses responded by going to the tent of meeting to speak with God.  In verse 13 Moses says,

Now therefore, I pray You, if I have found favor in Your sight, let me know Your ways that I may know You, so that I may find favor in Your sight. Consider too, that this nation is Your people.”

Moses knew that he would need God to help lead these people. In verse 15 Moses goes on to say,

…If Your presence does not go with us, do not lead us up from here.”

Moses knew that he didn’t want to go where God was not going.  How many times do we head out and then wonder why God isn’t there?

God then responds to Moses in verse 17:

…I will also do this thing of which you have spoke; for you have found favor in My sight and I have known you by name.”

Then in verse 18, Moses reveals just how much he needs a touch from God.  He says:

…I pray You, show me Your glory!”

I love that verse.  It has become my prayer.  The great evangelist Charles Spurgeon has said that this is the greatest request a man has ever made of God. In a sermon that was preached at the Evangelical Baptist Church of Geneva, it was stated that

This request from Moses is praying more OF God instead of a praying more FROM God. Those are two very different prayers. A prayer for more FROM God can be prayed quite dispassionately. But a prayer for more OF God, a prayer which prays for increasing revelation of the form of God, can only be prayed passionately, because it is all about asking for increasing intimacy with God.

In It’s Not about Me, Max Lucado states:

To ask to see God’s glory is to ask to see all of God.  God’s glory carries the full weight of His attributes: His love, His character, His strength, and His wisdom.

Lucado describes this prayer as asking God to show us His radiance, to flex His biceps.  Let us see the S on His chest.  We want to see God’s preeminence, his heart-stomping, ground-shaking extra-spectacularness. Lucado says that this prayer is asking God to stun us with His strength,numb us with His wisdom, steal our breath with a brush of His.

When we are facing difficult times and we recognize we aren’t sufficient, we need to see God’s glory.   We need to know that He is here, He is strong, and He can save us.

When I get a glimpse of God’s glory, I realize that the more I know of God, the more I want of God.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 16, 2009 6:55 AM

    I love the song by Third Day, Show Me Your Glory. Especially this part-

    When I climb down the mountain
    And get back to my life
    I won’t settle for ordinary things
    I’m gonna follow You forever
    And for all of my days
    I won’t rest ’til I see You again

    Thank you for the verse reference for those words. I so love it when I read scriptures that I have been singing as songs for months or years. I was so excited when I read David’s words in 2 Samuel, ‘I will become even more undigified than this’ – been singing that David Crowder song for years. I think I laughed out loud!

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

