Skip to content

Learning to Look Forward to Reading the Bible

January 10, 2011

Used by CC License - Flickr user: rimabek

Tonight I visited Austin Stone Community Church, a non-denominational church in Austin, Texas.  The sermon was given by Ronnie Smith.  It was entitled “Beholding the Beauty of the Word”.  It’s hard to capture an entire sermon in a short blog post but his sermon rang true with my own personal experience. I blogged about my struggle studying the Bible here. Ronnie started his Sermon by stating,

You can only love God to the degree you know God.

He expounded on this by stating that the only way our love for God can grow is if our knowledge of God grows.  Reading and studying the Scriptures is really the only way of understanding who God is.  Then why don’t we do it?  Why aren’t we drawn to reading God’s Word and instead, actually dread reading it?

Ronnie’s sermon laid out an excellent rationale why this happens and better yet, how to remedy it.  The following was the text for the sermon:

Open my eyes, that I may behold wonderful things from Your law. Psalm 119:18 (ESV)

We don’t enjoy reading God’s Word because we are “beholding” worldly things.  When we spend so much time “beholding” the world we become worldly, which kills our ability to “behold” the Scriptures.   Further down in Psalm 119 the writer recognizes where we have to begin, by seeking God’s help.

Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things; and give me life in Your way. Psalm 119:37

The psalmist knew that we have no power to change our heart.  Only God can do that.  I started my path by praying over and over, “God, help me hunger and thirst after Your righteousness.”  I was tired of looking at worthless things. Over time, God answered my prayer.  I began watching less and less TV and found myself looking forward to getting into His Word. I used Kay Arthur’s Precept’s process which enabled me to slow down to “behold” God’s Word.  It has completely changed my life.

Ronnie gives good advice in how to fall in love with God’s Word.  You can listen to his sermon here.

I attend another church but we don’t have services on Sunday night and the reputation of Austin Stone led me to visit this church. With sermons like this, I’ll be back.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jamee permalink
    January 10, 2011 6:56 AM

    The more I am in God’s Word, the more I want to be. However, I often feel guilty when I spend time studying, thinking I should be doing more obvious things to care for my family. Yet I know time spent reading Scriptures and earnestly praying for my family is never wasted.

    Thank you for your example and your inspiration and for your honesty in coming to your love for the Word. I admire you.

    • Jennifer permalink*
      January 10, 2011 7:39 AM

      Jamee, I understand your concerns. When I was a young mother I didn’t spend much time in the Word and I really regret it. It would have helped me manage all the many responsibilities that come with caring for young children. You are doing the right thing.

Leave a Reply

